the altar of private prayer

In Spurgeon’s  daily readings, the morning devotional for July 15th is one of exhortation.

[Private prayer] is the very life of all piety. … Secret devotion is the very essence, evidence, and barometer of vital and experimental religion. … Let your [private devotions] be, if possible, regular, frequent, and undisturbed. … Have you nothing to pray for? Let us suggest the church, the ministry, your own soul, your children, your relations, your neighbours, your country, and the cause of God and truth throughout the whole world.

I’ve never been very good at (ie sufficiently disciplined for) using daily devotional readings, and recognise that cherrypicking from completely different months could well be regarded as subversive of the whole concept. However, someone recently gave me Spurgeon’s famous “Morning and Evening” and I’m going to dutifully see how far I can get without abandoning it in disenchantment. (I haven’t peeked at any other day apart from when it randomly fell open at July 15th, I promise.)

[Ps, I might as well add – maybe don’t expect much activity here for the next wee while. Things are going to get fairly significantly more busy and I’m not sure when I’ll get back on an even keel for blogging purposes.]

2 thoughts on “the altar of private prayer

  1. Ah, I’ve been a fond reader of devotionals…the only thing is it is starting to get harder to find ones I haven’t read a few times already. Spurgeon’s M & E has been read at least 3 times! Very good and to the point…maybe I should pull it out again. :) Happy reading! Hope your not too busy with work and all. Ev xx

    Like

  2. Apparently there’s another one recently been reprinted, called the Daily Remembrancer (or similar) by an English minister by the name of Smith. I think from roughly the same era as Spurgeon. It was recommended to me by someone, and I know someone else who uses it. It’s much bigger than M&E and hardback but with big print so i wouldn’t imagine it gives much more to read at a time, i haven’t used it myself (see above for apology :) ) but i could try and get an opinion of how highly recommended it is and let you know :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

