hfe reply

I wrote my MP about the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Bill (or more accurately, CC’d him into the email we all, I trust, sent to those members of the House of Lords suggested by SPUC).

Today in the post I get this response, reproduced here in its entirety.

Thank you for your e-mail.

The Human Fertilisation and Embryology Bill has been debated extensively in the House of Commons and I am sure will be debated equally thoroughly in the House of Lords. That said, I don’t agree with your analysis of what the Bill seeks to do.

However, I am grateful to you for having taken the trouble to write.

Yours sincerely

(MP)

I’m not sure whether to be miffed at the startling lack of substance, or just be grateful he went through the motions of replying.

6 thoughts on “hfe reply

  1. Yes, I copied it to SPUC.

    Re naming and shaming, it was more out of anonymity for myself, but I guess telling you it’s Alistair Darling doesn’t help the cause of any would-be evil stalkers out there much more than the info already available through this site :)

    I also got a reply from someone on behalf of Lord Darzi. They talked up the thoroughness of the debates in the Commons and didn’t take up anything remotely related to safeguarding life and dignity etc. It also specifically mentioned the free votes on saviour siblings etc, cos we all know how free that one was, and a bit of blether about scientific progress and a cure for Parkinsons.

    Like

  2. I have to confess that I’m impressed that you got a reply that looks like they actually read what you wrote to them. I only ever seem to get what I suspect are mass produced blurbs to deal with people writing to them about whatever issue it is.

    Like

  3. Yeah, it’s a bit of a giveaway that in my email I never really offered “an analysis of what the bill seeks to do” – but it’s good to know he appreciates the trouble I took to write.

    Having said that, no doubt he’s a busy man, and it’s not as if it was a proper discussion (or even something he could have directly intervened on at this stage) AND it’s probably asking too much to expect him to vote against the govt no matter what. Still, with such a non-reply, he could at least have saved on paper & postage and just emailed me back :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

