cutting the throat of all objection

Who knows how many reasons can be listed to convince a person that they shouldn’t go to the Saviour for salvation. But John Bunyan, still talking about the verse, ‘Him that cometh to me, I will in no wise cast out,’ explodes all possible objections and excuses and thoughts that would discourage a person from coming to Christ.

This word, in no wise, cutteth the throat of all objection, and it was dropped by the Lord Jesus for that very end, and to help the faith that is mixed with unbelief.

And it is, as it were, the sum of all promises; neither can any objection be made upon the unworthiness that thou findest in thee, that this promise will not foil.

But I am a great sinner, sayest thou.
‘I will in no wise cast out,’ says Christ.

But I am an old sinner, sayest thou.
‘I will in no wise cast out,’ says Christ.

But I am a hard-hearted sinner, sayest thou.
‘I will in no wise cast out,’ says Christ.

But I am a backsliding sinner, sayest thou.
‘I will in no wise cast out,’ says Christ.

But I have served Satan all my days, sayest thou.
‘I will in no wise cast out,’ says Christ.

But I have sinned against mercy, sayest thou.
‘I will in no wise cast out,’ says Christ.

But I have no good thing to bring with me, sayest thou.
‘I will in no wise cast out,’ says Christ.

Thus I might go on to the end of things and show you that still this promise was provided to answer all objections, and doth answer them.

Obviously, it’s one thing to know that such a Saviour exists, and another thing to do what he says and actually come to him. Otherwise, to use an analogy that was familiar to Bunyan and his contemporaries, God’s provision of this Saviour is only as much use to you as food that is never eaten, a remedy that is never applied. What use is a Saviour, if he’s not my Saviour?

One thought on “cutting the throat of all objection

Leave a Reply

