serendipitous soup

I’ve just spent the morning making my ‘necessity is the mother of invention’ carrot soup.

It sprang into being one time I went to make soup, and discovered we had no onions.

So instead I used a couple of rashers of bacon to give it some flavour. I did the bacon in butter and added a potato, some tomato puree, and lots of herbs and seasoning.

Then loads of carrots and perhaps a parsnip or anything else available to hand. Simmer it in vegetable stock until the carrots are just tender – they should still have a bit of bite to them – and then whizz it up with a blender.

I’m still working on this one, but I think you get different results if you put the whole lot in the blender at once, or strain out some of the liquid first. But don’t quote me on that.

3 thoughts on “serendipitous soup

  1. Serendipity! That brings back memories of perplisteronk and all the other words. Anyway, that soup does sound nice – I might just try it out one of these days. I’m thinking I should try and be more adventurous in the kitchen cos when I’m a student I’ll need to be good at more than just custard creams and weetabix biscuits… :o

    Like

  2. home-made soup … is there any other kind? :D

    meanwhile weetabix biscuits sound a lot more healthy than the stuff i’m dining on these days … no disparagement to J’s cooking of course, but i’m resolutely avoiding mirrors & scales these days as a matter of principle :D

    Like

Leave a Reply

